Skip to content

Relevancy in the world

May 15, 2012

The red dots represent Change the World projects. Where would our Twitter dot be?

Someone on Twitter mentioned how #GC2012 did not really trend on Twitter. That brought about a thought of how relevant is The United Methodist Church in the world?

When Change the World started a few years ago, I was really excited. As a connectional church, we could change the world on a weekend. That could be our biggest statement in a world seeing church increasingly irrelevant. Surely the media would pick up on something so large as almost 8 million UMs working in their community. Can you see it? I did and still can, but it takes you.

If I could, I would mandate every church to do something on that weekend. There would be lots of grumbling (really?), but even the churches who didn’t put forth much effort in their project would make a difference. I can’t imagine doing a project and not feeling good about it afterwards. If United Methodists felt good about themselves, each other and their contribution to their community would that not give positive energy to our churches?

We need a jolt. A jolt that runs through our bodies and manifests itself in our hands. To move from negative to positive as Lecrae would say. We disagree on a lot of things, but I think one thing I’ve heard from most during GC2012 was that we could agree on going out into the world and doing the work of Christ. Let’s do it. Let’s use the opportunity to do a project with a church that’s different from ours. For some, that would mean doing a project with a Reconciling congregation. For others, it might be doing a project with an urban church. Developing relationships through the different people in our connection is as important (and maybe more so right now) as developing relationships in the community.

This makes me think of the face of The United Methodist Church presented on Twitter during General Conference. It wasn’t pretty. So, all of my non-UMC followers saw my tweets about the church I love through their feed. I wonder what they thought? I wonder what your followers thought?

How can our tweets help our followers? How can our tweets show The UMC is about something? A place we can start is #CtWTweets. It’s so easy and requires very little from us, but can make a big difference. Check out ctwtweets.wordpress.com and then come back here for a minute.

What did you think? Pretty easy right? After the weekend, I’d like to send the tweets to the contacts for the projects that were prayed for. Let them know that a Twitter community was praying for them. 140 characters can make a difference.

Heather

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2012 7:24 pm

    Reblogged this on Tweet to Change the World.

  2. May 16, 2012 1:33 am

    I think you are right. Many of the twitter posts during gc2012 were rude and anything but an example of holy conversation. For myself, I pray that in some small way #CtWTweets will open up a more caring conversation and show the world who the UMC is at heart.

  3. May 18, 2012 2:21 am

    It totally baffles me that more churches aren’t participating in CtW. Why isn’t everybody doing this?? We’re doing an environmentally-focused event, partnering with a Rotary-sponsored Recycling Extravaganza (!!! I can’t say that word without using my best impression of Big Voiced Announcer Guy.) Basically it’s bring all the stuff sitting around your house that you don’t know how to properly get rid of. Practical, easy, collaborative.

    Love the #CtWTweets stuff. Gonna start using it.

    • May 19, 2012 3:24 am

      Dave, I wish I knew. Some projects are done at other times. It’s encouraged that if you can’t do it this weekend that you pick another. Our church had one a few weeks back.

      Love the project and love the collaboration. I hope you’ll share how it goes. Thanks for taking a prayer shift so late (or early).

Trackbacks

  1. Relevancy in the world » Walking in the Wilderness

Leave a Reply

