Skip to content

Butler Blue

March 29, 2011

It was about this time last year that I read an article about Brad Stevens, men’s basketball coach for Butler University. I didn’t know much about Butler, and honestly, I still don’t. I had seen Stevens during the Championship game and thought “wow, that coach is young”. I watched the game for a while and noticed how well he coached. He was definitely no Bobby Knight. 

The article was an interview with Coach Stevens about his faith and morals. And while he is young and not been coaching college ball long, he seems wise in his views. I appreciated this inner look into Coach Stevens’ life.

It’s March Madness and Final Four time. Butler is again fighting to be one of the teams to play for the championship game. Last year, the team made it to the Final unexpectedly. To see them again in the top four is exciting. While I don’t have a favorite college basketball team, I do tend to pick up a team to cheer for and this year I’m cheering for Butler.  And it’s not because I don’t want Kentucky to win (though that’s true). I feel a certain draw to cheer for someone I’ve learned a bit about, not to mention who is United Methodist.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

