Skip to content

2 types of bloggers

February 26, 2011

I read a lot of United Methodist news. I love reading about the wonderful things that are being done around the world by United Methodists. I also read blogs that mention United Methodism. I find there are about 2 categories of bloggers on this subject. 1) Consistent bloggers who write about the good, the bad, the ugly in our denomination while exposing ways in which to better ourselves and 2) the Gripers.

I enjoy Group 1. I know the denomination I love has it’s problems. I don’t think we should sweep them under the rug like they don’t exist, but let’s talk about the good as well. A well-rounded conversation is what I like best about Group 1 and their ability to see themselves as part of the problem and solution.

Group 2 disturbs me. Always touting the imperfections of a denomination, church, agency, etc. brings me down. It makes me sad. For all our faults as a denomination, we have too much that is good to go unnoticed. And, there’s no hope in Group 2 blogs. No grace or redemption. Those are some of the very things I love about the Christian faith and United Methodism. Group 2 bloggers, for the most part, always have someone else to blame. No responsibility lies with them.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 22, 2011 7:24 pm

    I’m with you. I do not like when people go negative. Yes, I love honesty and continually I have to learn ways I can improve. But I find it more effective to be the change I want to see in the world. If I notice something I don’t like in my denomination or in the world, I am responsible for making that change. Thanks for the reminder. Stay positive! (I will too!)

Leave a Reply

